The visitor from the city

I havent been on here in a reallyyyyyy long while and i really miss writing. I’ve kind of been on hibernation and I haven’t written or drawn since forever. I went through some stuff and I Kind of became really into how people will look at me, fear of being judged or looked at as weak if I let all my feelings out in what I write.
My creativity level is so low right now and I suck but I think I’m finally ready to get back at it and hopefully be more active . I love to write and it has always been therapeutic for me, being able to let go and just put things down.
Although, i have a new blog which is a personal style/fashion blog “http://Cassiedaves.blogspot.com”

Anyways, i was going through some of my writings from way back and decided to share this here.
Hope you like it

………….

I am usually a heavy sleeper but last night i found it hard to sleep.
Something about the visitor from the city we had at the hut earlier that day irked me.
Papa had had called her Miss Victoria.
I got back from the farm to find a shiny black car parked in our yard,out of curiousity i rushed into the kitchen. Mama was serving fufu with the special plates, the ones we used only on special occasions.
Adaora e bata go,hope the sun wasnt too hot? ,mama asked. Drop your things and go and greet your aunty from the city.
I wanted to ask how come im just knowing i have an aunty in the city but i did as i was told.
I stepped into the sitting room and there sitting beside papa was probably the most beautiful woman i had eva seen, she looked like one of those women in the magazine Nkem my elder brother read.
She studied me as i studied her
Have you lost your manners? Papa yelled and that brought me back.
I quickly mumbled a sorry,greated them and retreated to my room.

I was awake that night,so i heard them arguing. Papa and mama rarely raised their voices but that night they did.
You know we cant afford to take care of all the children and moreover the Miss promised to enroll her in a scholl, papa said. Di’m havent we been managing,let us manage. Ada nwa’m cant be anyones slave, i heard Mama cry for the 1st time and then i knew they were arguing about me, i knew then what the woman called Miss Victoria had come for.
I didnt like that they were arguing or that mama was crying and i knew that i would go if it’d make it better.
I knew we didnt have money and that was why i had to stop going to school and help with the farming.
A tear escaped my eyes before the sleep finally set in

Leave a Reply

